You are here

Flame of Democracy Award

The Flame of Democracy Award was created to recognize significant contributions made to the public's understanding of the law, democracy and the legal system. It has been awarded periodically since its inception in 2002.  The recipient may be an individual or an organization.  Award winners include:

     Richard "Dick" Larsen, political writer for The Seattle Times, 2002

     Northwest Justice Project, self-help legal website, 2004

     Yakima County Prosecuting Attorney's Office Adopt a Classroom Project, 2004 

     League of Women Voters of Washington Education Fund,  2007



     Rick Nagel, mock trial coach/teacher at Franklin High School, 2009

     Stan Chalich, teacher at Central Valley High School in Spokane, 2009

     Mary Fairhurst, Washington Supreme Court Justice, 2011



     June Krumpotick, Self-Help program manager, Legal Voice, 2011



Press releases regarding the award recipients are available below.

Nominations for the award may be made by email.  Use the contact information below.


By: editor1
Last Updated: February 3, 2016 - 3:25pm

Site by | Powered by