You are here

TVW Wins Cronkite Award

TVW has won a 2013 Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Television Political Journalism, according to The Norman Lear Center at the University of Southern California’s Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism.

TVW was the sole public or PBS television station selected to receive the Cronkite Award in the Local Public Station category. According to the Lear Center, TVW was chosen for “compelling, fair and very visual treatment of issues affecting the state.”

"We strive to produce engaging, balanced and in-depth programs that inform our viewers about important issues and help them understand how those issues might impact their lives. It’s extremely gratifying to have that work acknowledged on the national stage,” Greg Lane, President of TVW, Washington’s independent and non-profit state public affairs television network, said in a news release.

The Walter Cronkite Awards for Excellence in Television Political Journalism are named for distinguished journalist and longtime CBS anchor Walter Cronkite. The awards are given every two years “to recognize television journalism that helps viewers understand who the candidates are; what the issues and ballot propositions are; how electoral choices will affect their lives; how to assess campaign information, including advertising; and how to register, vote and make their own voices heard.”

Lane will represent TVW at a ceremony at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C., on Friday, April 19, to receive the award.

Read more here:

Posted: March 13, 2013 - 2:04pm

Site by | Powered by